Updated on their own
- South African Reserve Bank current market rates
Prime — the interest rate banks use as a starting point for loans — and the Reserve Bank's repo rate. We check for a fresh figure every six hours. Only a checked live figure dated within seven calendar days fills a calculator automatically. Saved rates remain dated references.
- Open-Meteo weather and place search
Place search and the forecast. We refresh the forecast every 15 minutes and place searches once a day.
- South African Weather Service (SAWS) — severe weather warnings
Official warnings for the place you're looking up, shown word for word as the Weather Service writes them. We refresh these every five minutes, because it matters. If we can't reach them, the weather page says so — we won't leave a blank space that looks like "all clear".
- BigDataCloud
Turns the coordinates from "Use my location" into a place name, so the page can say "Durban" instead of a pair of numbers. If it can't work out where you are, the page just says "Your location".
Municipal electricity rates
- eThekwini: Ordinary household prepaid (the City calls it Scale 8 & 9) (PDF)
Checked · 01 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 · VAT included
The standard prepaid rate most Durban households pay, taken from the City's own final 2026/27 tariff table. There's no separate service charge on this tariff — it's a single flat rate per unit.
- City of Cape Town: Domestic prepaid
Checked · 01 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 · VAT included
The standard household prepaid rate, including the daily service charge the City takes off every purchase. A low-income or free-basic plan (Lifeline), or the City's Home User plan, has different rates that this calculator doesn't cover.
- Johannesburg (City Power): Higher-use household prepaid (Residential Prepaid High) (PDF)
Not checked yet · 01 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 · VAT included
We couldn't confirm how earlier prepaid tokens move this plan through its monthly price steps, so we can't calculate with it yet.
- City of Tshwane: Residential prepaid
Not checked yet · 01 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 · VAT included
We haven't been able to check the City's final tariff document directly, so this plan isn't available for calculations yet.
- City of Ekurhuleni: Lower-use household prepaid (Tariff A.2, outside the City's low-income or indigent support) (PDF)
Checked · 01 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 · VAT included
For lower- or average-use households that are not registered for the City's low-income support (the City calls this non-indigent), at the same price all year round. It doesn't cover that support plan, or households averaging more than 750 kWh a month over six months; the City moves those higher-use homes to a different tariff we don't have verified rates for yet.
Cape Town municipal bill
The 2026/27 tariffs were checked on 24 September 2026. Current water restrictions still need checking before a combined estimate is shown.
- City of Cape Town: Home User electricity (units, before VAT) (PDF)
Checked · 01 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 · VAT not included
The City's Home User electricity price, which applies to every home valued at R1 million or more. The first 600 units in a month cost less than the rest.
- City of Cape Town: Home User Service and Wires Charge (PDF)
Checked · 01 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 · VAT not included
A fixed monthly amount for being connected to the City's electricity, charged even in a month you use nothing. If you're on prepaid, the City may take it off your purchases instead.
- City of Cape Town: Water, Domestic Full (no restriction) (PDF)
Needs re-check · 01 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 · VAT not included
The City's normal water prices for a house, with no water restrictions. The price per kilolitre goes up in steps as you use more in a month.
We haven't confirmed Cape Town's current water restrictions, so water and sewerage estimates aren't shown.
- City of Cape Town: Water fixed basic charge, meter up to 22 mm (PDF)
Needs re-check · 01 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 · VAT not included
A fixed monthly amount for an ordinary household water meter, charged whatever you use.
We haven't confirmed Cape Town's current water restrictions, so water and sewerage estimates aren't shown.
- City of Cape Town: Sanitation, Domestic Full (no restriction) (PDF)
Needs re-check · 01 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 · VAT not included
Sewerage is charged on 70% of the water you use, up to 35 kilolitres a month, with the price going up in steps like water.
We haven't confirmed Cape Town's current water restrictions, so water and sewerage estimates aren't shown.
- City of Cape Town: Sanitation fixed basic charge, meter up to 22 mm (PDF)
Needs re-check · 01 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 · VAT not included
A fixed monthly amount for a home connected to the City's sewer, charged whatever you use.
We haven't confirmed Cape Town's current water restrictions, so water and sewerage estimates aren't shown.
- City of Cape Town: Refuse, one 240-litre bin collected weekly (PDF)
Checked · 01 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 · VAT not included
The monthly charge for one standard wheelie bin collected once a week, billed to the owner.
- City of Cape Town: Residential property rates (PDF)
Checked · 01 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 · VAT doesn't apply
Rates on a home the owner lives in, worked out from the City's 2025 valuation. The first R620 000 of the value isn't rated if the home is valued at R8 million or less.
Vehicle licence disc fees
- Western Cape: Motorcycle (PDF)
Checked · From 01 Jul 2026, until the province publishes a new one · One fee for every motorcycle and motor tricycle, whatever it weighs. It's been in place since 1 July 2026 and stays until the province publishes a new one.
- Western Cape: Car, bakkie or SUV (PDF)
Checked · From 01 Jul 2026, until the province publishes a new one · What you pay depends on what your vehicle weighs empty (its tare), not loaded. We cover vehicles up to 3 500 kg — the province does publish fees for heavier ones, we just don't list them yet.
- Western Cape: Trailer (PDF)
Checked · From 01 Jul 2026, until the province publishes a new one · For trailers and semi-trailers. Caravans have their own fee below, and farm trailers are charged differently — we don't cover those.
- Western Cape: Caravan (PDF)
Checked · From 01 Jul 2026, until the province publishes a new one · One fee for every caravan, whatever it weighs.
- Gauteng: Car, bakkie or SUV
Not checked yet · Gauteng's new fees are still a draft — the comment period closed but we could not find a final gazetted version as of 24 September 2026, and we couldn't find the schedule they'd replace either. We'd rather show you nothing than a price that's about to change.
- KwaZulu-Natal: Car, bakkie or SUV (PDF)
Not checked yet · The KwaZulu-Natal transport department's site wasn't loading when we last checked, so we can't check its fees against the department itself. We won't copy the numbers off someone else's page.
- Limpopo: Motorcycle (PDF)
Checked · From 01 Apr 2026, until the province publishes a new one · One fee for every motorcycle, whatever it weighs. It's been in place since 1 April 2026, the start of Limpopo's 2026/27 financial year.
- Limpopo: Car, bakkie or SUV (PDF)
Checked · From 01 Apr 2026, until the province publishes a new one · What you pay depends on what your vehicle weighs empty (its tare), not loaded. We cover vehicles up to 3 500 kg — the province does publish fees for heavier ones, we just don't list them yet.
- Limpopo: Trailer (PDF)
Checked · From 01 Apr 2026, until the province publishes a new one · For trailers and semi-trailers, banded by their tare weight. Farm trailers are charged differently — we don't cover those.
- Limpopo: Caravan (PDF)
Checked · From 01 Apr 2026, until the province publishes a new one · One fee for every caravan, whatever it weighs.
- Free State: Car, bakkie or SUV
Not checked yet · The Free State department hasn't published anything newer than 2018, and the other lists claiming a current fee contradict each other. We're not going to guess between them.
- Mpumalanga: Motorcycle
Checked · From 01 Apr 2026, until the province publishes a new one · One fee for every motorcycle, motor tricycle and motor quadricycle, whatever it weighs. It's been in place since 1 April 2026.
- Mpumalanga: Car, bakkie or SUV
Checked · From 01 Apr 2026, until the province publishes a new one · What you pay depends on what your vehicle weighs empty (its tare), not loaded. We cover vehicles up to 3 500 kg — the province does publish fees for heavier ones, we just don't list them yet.
- Mpumalanga: Trailer
Checked · From 01 Apr 2026, until the province publishes a new one · For trailers and semi-trailers, banded by their tare weight. Farm trailers and trailers drawn by a tractor are charged differently — we don't cover those.
- Mpumalanga: Caravan
Checked · From 01 Apr 2026, until the province publishes a new one · One fee for every caravan, whatever it weighs.
- Northern Cape: Motorcycle
Checked · From 01 Apr 2026, until the province publishes a new one · One fee for every motorcycle, motor tricycle and motor quadricycle, whatever it weighs. It's been in place since 1 April 2026.
- Northern Cape: Car, bakkie or SUV
Checked · From 01 Apr 2026, until the province publishes a new one · What you pay depends on what your vehicle weighs empty (its tare), not loaded. We cover vehicles up to 3 500 kg — the province does publish fees for heavier ones, we just don't list them yet.
- Northern Cape: Trailer
Checked · From 01 Apr 2026, until the province publishes a new one · For trailers, banded by their tare weight. Farm trailers and trailers drawn by a tractor are charged differently — we don't cover those.
- Northern Cape: Caravan
Checked · From 01 Apr 2026, until the province publishes a new one · One fee for every caravan, whatever it weighs.
- Eastern Cape: Car, bakkie or SUV
Not checked yet · The Eastern Cape transport department's site is still down, and the newest figures anyone can point to are from 2012 or 2018. Too old, and not confirmable anyway.
- North West: Car, bakkie or SUV
Not checked yet · Two different fee lists disagree about which North West gazette is the current one, and we can't read either gazette directly. Picking one would be guessing.
Where you can renew, and what it costs you extra
- Renew at your local licensing office (the registering authority).
Checked · Countrywide · Always available, wherever you live. If nothing else works, this does.
- Renew in person at a selected Post Office branch.
Checked · Countrywide · Only some Post Office branches handle this, not all of them. Phone your nearest branch before you make the trip.
- Renew and pay for a vehicle licence disc online via the national NaTIS platform.
Checked · Countrywide · Government's own NaTIS service is available countrywide. Delivery is charged separately.
- Pay vehicle licence fees online via EFT through the City of Cape Town's own portal.
Checked · Western Cape · For the City of Cape Town only — not the rest of the Western Cape.
- Automobile Association of South Africa (AA)
Checked · Charged on top of the licence fee itself, not instead of it · What the AA charges to handle the renewal for you: reminders, paperwork and delivery within four working days, for up to four vehicles due at the same time. The licence fee itself is separate and you still pay it. You can also pay this monthly instead.
Fuel prices
Petrol, diesel and paraffin prices come from the Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources (DMPR, the department that used to be called the DMRE). It publishes a new schedule once a month. A new price can still be waiting here for a day or two after it changes at the pump while we check every figure. The next scheduled change is 04 Nov 2026. One thing to know: the diesel figures are the official wholesale price, not what you'll pay at the pump. Each garage sets that itself.
- Inland: Petrol 93
Past figure · From 02 Sept 2026 · check-by date 06 Oct 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Breakdown of Prices September 2026 (effective 02 September 2026)
Government fixes petrol prices by pricing district. Your town may have a different price from this reference zone.
- Inland: Petrol 95
Past figure · From 02 Sept 2026 · check-by date 06 Oct 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Breakdown of Prices September 2026 (effective 02 September 2026)
Government fixes petrol prices by pricing district. Your town may have a different price from this reference zone.
- Coastal: Petrol 93
Past figure · From 02 Sept 2026 · check-by date 06 Oct 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Breakdown of Prices September 2026 (effective 02 September 2026)
Government fixes petrol prices by pricing district. Your town may have a different price from this reference zone.
- Coastal: Petrol 95
Past figure · From 02 Sept 2026 · check-by date 06 Oct 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Breakdown of Prices September 2026 (effective 02 September 2026)
Government fixes petrol prices by pricing district. Your town may have a different price from this reference zone.
- Inland: Diesel 500ppm (wholesale reference)
Past figure · From 02 Sept 2026 · check-by date 06 Oct 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Breakdown of Prices September 2026 (effective 02 September 2026)
Government only sets this wholesale price. Each garage adds its own margin on top, so you'll pay more than this at the pump.
- Coastal: Diesel 500ppm (wholesale reference)
Past figure · From 02 Sept 2026 · check-by date 06 Oct 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Fuel Price Schedule September 2026.xlsx (zone 1A) (effective 02 September 2026)
Government only sets this wholesale price. Each garage adds its own margin on top, so you'll pay more than this at the pump.
- Inland: Diesel 50ppm (wholesale reference)
Past figure · From 02 Sept 2026 · check-by date 06 Oct 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Breakdown of Prices September 2026 (effective 02 September 2026)
Government only sets this wholesale price. Each garage adds its own margin on top, so you'll pay more than this at the pump.
- Coastal: Diesel 50ppm (wholesale reference)
Past figure · From 02 Sept 2026 · check-by date 06 Oct 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Fuel Price Schedule September 2026.xlsx (zone 1A) (effective 02 September 2026)
Government only sets this wholesale price. Each garage adds its own margin on top, so you'll pay more than this at the pump.
- Inland: Paraffin (wholesale)
Past figure · From 02 Sept 2026 · check-by date 06 Oct 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Breakdown of Prices September 2026 (effective 02 September 2026)
The trade price, not what a shop may charge you. For that, see the retail ceiling below.
- Coastal: Paraffin (wholesale)
Past figure · From 02 Sept 2026 · check-by date 06 Oct 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Breakdown of Prices September 2026 (effective 02 September 2026)
The trade price, not what a shop may charge you. For that, see the retail ceiling below.
- Inland: Paraffin (most a shop may charge)
Past figure · From 02 Sept 2026 · check-by date 06 Oct 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, SMNRP Regulations September 2026 (effective 02 September 2026)
The most a shop may legally charge a household for paraffin. It's one price for the whole country, which is why inland and coastal are the same here.
- Coastal: Paraffin (most a shop may charge)
Past figure · From 02 Sept 2026 · check-by date 06 Oct 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, SMNRP Regulations September 2026 (effective 02 September 2026)
The most a shop may legally charge a household for paraffin. It's one price for the whole country, which is why inland and coastal are the same here.
- Coastal: Diesel 500ppm (wholesale reference)
Checked · From 07 Oct 2026 · check-by date 03 Nov 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Fuel Price Schedule (effective 2026-10-07)
Government only sets this wholesale price. Each garage adds its own margin on top, so you'll pay more than this at the pump.
- Coastal: Diesel 50ppm (wholesale reference)
Checked · From 07 Oct 2026 · check-by date 03 Nov 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Fuel Price Schedule (effective 2026-10-07)
Government only sets this wholesale price. Each garage adds its own margin on top, so you'll pay more than this at the pump.
- Coastal: Paraffin (most a shop may charge)
Checked · From 07 Oct 2026 · check-by date 03 Nov 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, SMNRP regulation (effective 2026-10-07)
The most a shop may legally charge a household for paraffin. It's one price for the whole country, which is why inland and coastal are the same here.
- Coastal: Paraffin (wholesale)
Checked · From 07 Oct 2026 · check-by date 03 Nov 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Fuel Price Schedule (effective 2026-10-07)
The trade price, not what a shop may charge you. For that, see the retail ceiling below.
- Coastal: Petrol 93
Checked · From 07 Oct 2026 · check-by date 03 Nov 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Fuel Price Schedule (effective 2026-10-07)
Government fixes petrol prices by pricing district. Your town may have a different price from this reference zone.
- Coastal: Petrol 95
Checked · From 07 Oct 2026 · check-by date 03 Nov 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Fuel Price Schedule (effective 2026-10-07)
Government fixes petrol prices by pricing district. Your town may have a different price from this reference zone.
- Inland: Diesel 500ppm (wholesale reference)
Checked · From 07 Oct 2026 · check-by date 03 Nov 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Fuel Price Schedule (effective 2026-10-07)
Government only sets this wholesale price. Each garage adds its own margin on top, so you'll pay more than this at the pump.
- Inland: Diesel 50ppm (wholesale reference)
Checked · From 07 Oct 2026 · check-by date 03 Nov 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Fuel Price Schedule (effective 2026-10-07)
Government only sets this wholesale price. Each garage adds its own margin on top, so you'll pay more than this at the pump.
- Inland: Paraffin (most a shop may charge)
Checked · From 07 Oct 2026 · check-by date 03 Nov 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, SMNRP regulation (effective 2026-10-07)
The most a shop may legally charge a household for paraffin. It's one price for the whole country, which is why inland and coastal are the same here.
- Inland: Paraffin (wholesale)
Checked · From 07 Oct 2026 · check-by date 03 Nov 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Fuel Price Schedule (effective 2026-10-07)
The trade price, not what a shop may charge you. For that, see the retail ceiling below.
- Inland: Petrol 93
Checked · From 07 Oct 2026 · check-by date 03 Nov 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Fuel Price Schedule (effective 2026-10-07)
Government fixes petrol prices by pricing district. Your town may have a different price from this reference zone.
- Inland: Petrol 95
Checked · From 07 Oct 2026 · check-by date 03 Nov 2026 · VAT not stated by the publisher · Department of Mineral and Petroleum Resources, Fuel Price Schedule (effective 2026-10-07)
Government fixes petrol prices by pricing district. Your town may have a different price from this reference zone.
Consumer price indexes (Stats SA)
- Statistics South Africa, Consumer Price Index (P0141), August 2026 (PDF)
Latest figure · published 23 Sept 2026 · all urban areas — Stats SA's headline CPI geography.
These are price indexes, not today's prices. The percentage changes on the Price changes page are our own calculation from Stats SA's index figures, never Stats SA's own published rates.
Public holidays
- Public Holidays Act 36 of 1994
The ten fixed-date holidays and the rule that makes Monday a holiday too when one falls on a Sunday.
- How the date of Easter is worked out
Good Friday and Family Day move with Easter, so we work them out from Easter Sunday using the same rule the Christian calendar uses. That makes them right for any year, past or future.
- 04 Nov 2026: Local Government Elections (declared public holiday)
Declared under section 2A of the Public Holidays Act 36 of 1994 (Public Holidays Amendment Act 48 of 1995). Source: The Presidency: President Ramaphosa declares Election Day — 4 November 2026 — a public holiday, last checked 22 Sept 2026.
- Other one-off holidays the President declares
The President can declare an extra public holiday, usually for an election. There's no rule behind those, so we can't predict one before it's announced — we add it above once the government has officially declared it. Check the government's own holidays page if there's an election coming that isn't listed yet.
Corrections
Spotted a number that looks wrong? Email us a correction with the page, figure and official source link if you have one. Do not include account details, ID numbers, bank details, passwords or login information. If an official source changes, or a figure here turns out to be wrong, we switch that calculator off until it's fixed rather than leaving it up.